No fear for the future

Founded in 2010 by guitarist and songwriter Ben van Gastel, Sylvium distinguishes itself with a distinctive sound wherein progressive rock, postrock and ambient elements are fused together into a unique whole.

This sound was first revealed in 2012 with the EP "Purified". Because of the many positive reactions and a growing fanbase, Sylvium evolved into a full live band in 2013.

In the summer of that year, the first full length album titled "Waiting for the Noise" was recorded. The album was again received with positive reactions and Sylvium became a mainstay in the Dutch prog scene. After several live shows, the band returned to writing it's next album at the end of 2014 titled "Waiting for the Noise".

LINE UP 2017 Ben van Gastel : Guitars
Antal Nusselder: Synths and Samples
Rich Huybens: Bass guitar and bass pedals
Fred den Hartog: Drums

On this concept album, the characteristic Sylvium sound was further developed. New boundaries were sought out and strong, emotional songs developed. On the album, heavy rock is interspersed with atmospheric ambient, sensitive piano parts and the distinctive vocals. This makes the album into a unique whole, that translates well into a live environment.

At the moment Sylvium is working hard on their third full album to be released somewhere in 2017.